Home > personal > What I’m Thinking About Tonight…

What I’m Thinking About Tonight…

Some of you may know this already, but I’m something of a less-active Mormon.  I was born and raised into the Church, and while I have my own personal issues, I believe in the concepts, particularly those regarding service and love.

When I was a little girl, we memorized some scriptures as a family–the ones that you should at least have rolling around in your personal brain file to call on when needed.  Lately I’ve had this passage from the King James version of the Bible, book of Matthew, chapter 25, rolling around in my head…We memorized the last verse when I was 7 or 8 years old.  This is Christ talking to His followers, regarding blessings that were reserved for them because of their loving and charitable acts:

“34 Then shall the King say unto them on his aright hand, Come, ye bblessed of my Father, cinherit the dkingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

 35 For I was an ahungred, and ye bgave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a cstranger, and ye took me in:

 36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye avisited me: I was in bprison, and ye came unto me.

 37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

 38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

 39 Or when saw we thee asick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

 40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have adone it unto one of the bleast of these my cbrethren, ye have done it unto me.”

I think about this quite often.  From a financial standpoint, it may be the downfall of me yet.  I totally suck at the business end of lawyering, because I just cannot NOT help someone who is in desperate need, at least in some way.  From Matthew 5:7:  “Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.” God in Heaven knows I can stand all the mercy I can get.

I may not be the best Mormon ever, and I struggle with my faith (a LOT), but I do my best to be a good Christian.  Because “inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these, my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

(Thanks, Mama and Daddy, for raising me right :). )

Charity Never Faileth

Categories: personal
  1. September 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

    I am starting a charitable enterprise that I call the Jesus of Nazareth Loaves and Fishes Co-op. I have a tractor and I am looking for unused agricultural land that the owner will rent for a season for one dollar, so to speak. The concept is to grow vegetables in my spare time and donnate them to the hungry and the needy. No doubt, this will not be nearly good enough in the final analysis to save my tortured soul. Your participation on any level is invited. I particularly need referrals for some land that I could “rent.” I enjoyed your article.

    Like

    • September 18, 2013 at 12:28 pm

      I’m assuming that you’re looking in the Salt Lake Valley/Davis County area. I have family in Davis county, who may have contacts with land. I’ll see what I can find out for you. Good luck with the venture!

      Like

  2. November 16, 2014 at 10:37 am

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

