Home > personal, That's Life > …And That’s Life, Ya’ll

…And That’s Life, Ya’ll

I remember a day when I was in law school, driving down Grand Avenue in Laramie, Wyoming, in 6 inches of snow/sand (that made my car think it was driving on the beach! Yeah! Not.). I was heading out of town to go see my kids in Logan, Utah…I’m thinking it was just for a ball game they had. It’s a 6 and 1/2 hour drive in good weather, generally 7 and a 1/2 in bad.  On this day the weather was crap, the roads were crap, and as I was just recovering from a slide towards the curb, I raised my face to the heavens and screamed, “What are you doing to me??? I AM NOT ADVENTURE GIRL!!!! Why, in the name of all that is good and sane, Lord, are You doing this to me??? I can’t do this crap!!”

Intrepid Gone

That same car… And another Something later on.  Cracked engine block.  I hadn’t even finished paying off the blown headgaskets repair… *sigh*

I didn’t die that day; I didn’t wreck my car. I did not fall asleep behind the wheel, or get stranded anywhere. The kids won their game. I was warm, dry, and had just enough money to make the roundtrip from Laramie to Logan. Again. So it all worked out ok. But even still, the stress…Damn.  The Stress. 😦

I am STILL not Adventure Girl. And yet, I keep getting to be. There is always Something. Right now I’m dealing with about half a dozen Somethings. But ya know, that’s pretty much been the story of my life for the past dozen years. I’m still here. It’s still stressful. I’m considerably more battered and tired.

So when I get those moments to just sit; on my porch; and be still… I so appreciate those times, just that much more. I must hang onto those moments; they are where the sweetness in life lives, and they are beautiful indeed.

Courage dear heart

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

