Home > divorce, family law general, law general, personal > From the FB Archives: April 16, 2013

From the FB Archives: April 16, 2013

Is it really about what we do with it?

Life is not perfect; I think we all know that.  I’ve had a rough couple of days.  I was up working until 11:00 last night (Yeah! E-filing! Damn YOU!!!! E-filing!!!)  I woke up with the knowledge that I had another full day, but at least my first “You must wear clothes and look presentable” appointment wasn’t until 11 a.m.  Before that, I got an email from a client thanking me profusely for the teeny tiny itty bitty thing I had done for him, and a phone call from an older lady who has called me no less than a dozen times in the past 3 months, thanking me for helping her.  I did precious little for her; I just answered the phone when she called.

This afternoon I had two new client consultations.  Not difficult stuff.  One may become a new client; one can probably handle things on her own.  The first one was distraught….Have ya’ll noticed I’m a big fat cry baby?  I try really hard not to cry with my clients, but damn it!  I suck at that…

I had other work that I did, work that pays, work that will hopefully protect my client from BigLaw’s nasty allegations come next Monday when I have to be in SLC at 9:00a.m. for a hearing.  I hope I did enough.  I hate responding to BigLaw’s filings.  They really suck.  But then there is this Woman, my client, with a child.  And I am again emotionally sucked into it without even wanting to be.

I have gotten better.  I don’t cry with all of them anymore.  I can pat their shoulders, squeeze a hand, and give them reassurance, while telling them what to expect.  I can walk away, relieved that they can’t afford a lawyer because I just KNOW they would turn into Super Needy client who runs out of money and becomes the most demanding at that point.

I had some personal distress this week as well.  And this morning, as I was sunk in the Lows of that, I had the Highs of my client and this old lady telling me that I am definitely OK.

It’s a weird place to live, my head….My therapist thinks I’m great.  He doesn’t have to deal with my neurosis….

carrying-too-much

Like the poor jackass pictured above, it’s possible I was carrying a little too much…

  1. December 13, 2016 at 4:32 pm

    It sounds like you’re the kind of lawyer that I would want to have around. And I promise, I wouldn’t be Super Needy Client that Runs Out of Money. I might be the Super Odd and Hard to Read Client that gets creeped out by American Money and now I’m rambling again. You sound like a super genuine person and professional to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • December 13, 2016 at 4:34 pm

      Thanks, Marlies… I did end up having to close my private law practice, in part because my anxiety and depression had gotten to the point that I was terrified of my phone and email. And some days I still am.

      Like

      • December 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm

        Oh dear! I didn’t know that. I’m really sorry to hear that, and I totally relate to you, for what it’s worth….

        Liked by 1 person

  2. December 13, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks 🙂

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

