A Change is as Good as a Break

I must be a Change Magnet, though I can’t complain (much). Most of the changes I’ve experienced in the last decade or two have moved me forward in a positive path. Some have made me want to jump off the path and travel paths no more. But my current Change is just straight up Wonderful.

I had opened up my own solo practice here in Wyoming, but again, I was solid family law. I do have a great love for people who are going through their own family law experiences, and I do love to help. But as I might have mentioned before, family law is HARD. It’s emotionally exhausting, it’s painful, and it never seems to end. Best one can hope for at the end is that they’re not too beaten up to start again, and that their kids are still healthy and happy. I know that law, and those people, and their pain. I have lived it myself. So having options other than just family law have always been on my radar.

And just when I thought I would be doomed to be a solo forever, I saw an ad in the Jackson Hole News. It was for an associate attorney, at Lubing, Gregory & Rectanus, LLC. They’re a law firm in Jackson, they do very little family law, and they liked me (They REALLY LIKED ME!!!) enough to hire me.

LGR is legal utopia for me. I still have some family cases (though I’m taking new ones on a very limited basis), but I get to learn about other areas of the law as well. This is a very good thing for one such as I being a new-to-Wyoming lawyer. And they also have cases in Idaho, soooo since I’m also a fresh Idaho lawyer, I’ll learn that law as well while I work on cases with the partners.

These are good people. The entire staff–partners, associates, office managers, legal assistants–feel like a family. And having moved to Star Valley, Wyoming, and joining a Jackson Hole law firm, I think I *might* have Arrived. I want to stay with LGR until I die (or retire, whichever comes first). And I have a new Life Theme Song. Have a listen ;).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment